Nigel Hobbins Music


In A Hole

This 10 track CD was recorded in Whitstable, Faversham and Canterbury, Kent, during 2007. It was launched on Thursday 1st May 2008 at the first folk night session (1st Thursday of every month) with the help of "The Backroom Boys" at the Whitstable Labour Club.

The songs consist of one traditional, two in collaboration with Andrew Ling and the other seven are written and arranged by Nigel Hobbins. The songs continue to draw upon his life long experience of living and working in East Kent, rural influences, local landscape, ordinary working skills and the occassional reference to local political history.

The following musicians and friends have contributed to the recording of these songs:- Doug Brown, Piet Clark, Johnny Fewings, Martin Kember-Smith, Rob Jarvis, Justin Mitchel, Russel Lax, Neil Sloman, Mavernie Cunningham, Gary Wells, Jim Leverton and not forgetting "Help!" from Phoebe Coles and Dan Mackenzie.

Track List

1. The Love Sick Brickie
2. The Watercress Girl
3. In A Hole
4. How I Wish
5. Fighting For The Garden Of England
6. October Sun
7. Call On Me
8. Today's The Day That I Meet Mary
9. Polling Day
10. Big Is The Day



If you don't want to purchase this CD over the Internet, then please go to this page for contact details.

and listen to track samples


In A Hole costs £12.00. This includes Postage and Packaging. (UK only)

Folk Roots Review - Jan/Feb 2009

Part singer/songwriter, part political animal and all-round East Kent good guy. Nigel Hobbins's latest album is another mix of love songs, reminiscences, rants and wry obsevations. This time he's used a plethora of backing musicians who frame his songs in a number of styles, all the while sounding unique and charming.